We champion quality education for our community’s students.

About Us

Coalition for Scarsdale Schools is dedicated to supporting the Scarsdale Union Free School District in its mission "to sponsor each student's full development, enabling our youth to be effective and independent contributors in a democratic society and an interdependent world.” With or without children in the District, we live here for the world-class public schools, and we champion quality education for our community’s students. 


We engage on issues promoting continuous reflection on the delivery of instructional programs in service of educational excellence, and that instill in students a love of learning and a non sibi mindset, not for self alone. We are devoted to efforts to try to ensure that our District is governed effectively and has the resources needed, subject to financial constraints, to meet the promise of its mission.

Over the years, Coalition for Scarsdale Schools has tackled a variety of issues and campaigns, primarily under the leadership of Diane Greenwald and Art Rublin.


Our current campaign, chaired by Valerie Phillips and Mauri Zemachson, includes a large team of engaged residents and is focused on supporting SBNC School Board nominees Jim Dugan and Jessica Resnick-Ault.

CSS does not make derogatory statements about any member of our community.

We are committed to a well-informed community.  CSS may supply links to endorsements, testimonials, and op eds related to candidates and issues and that are published in news outlets. Any content provided is that of the authors. Views or opinions expressed by individuals do not necessarily reflect the views or positions of CSS. We recommend that community members review publication standards at sources.


Thank you to our campaign committee of local volunteers!

Campaign Co-Chairs:

Valerie Phillips and Mauri Zemachson

Campaign Committee:

Susan Masry

Melissa & Herb Subin

Michelle Sterling

David Fenigstein

Li Zhang

Gina Polin

Dr. Meng Zhang

Jonathan Cheng

Christine Weston

Nanthini Srikanthan

Genie Rosenthal

Kelsa DeBrabant

Matt DeBrabant

Lauren Miller

Jill Horowitz

CSS Leadership:

CSS Co-Chairs:

Diane Greenwald and Art Rublin


Nan Berke

Executive Committee:

Shirley Dugan, Amy Lewis, Steve Pass

Each member of the Committee is participating solely as an individual, and not as a representative of any organization.